The Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion

Promoting the language, literature, arts and science of Wales


home > The Society > Who’s Who > President

Professor Prys Morgan

Prys Morgan succeeded the late Sir Rees Davies as President of the Society at the end of 2005. A native of Cardiff, he was educated there and at Oxford, returning to Wales as lecturer in the History Department of University College of Wales, Swansea. He retired in 2002 and is Emeritus Professor of History.

Prys is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries, of the Royal Historical Society and a Founding Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales. A specialist chiefly in Welsh history of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, he has edited general books on Welsh history, edited a volume of the Glamorgan County History and co-edited a volume of the Gwent County History, and co-authored a book on Welsh Surnames, and wrote one of the three volumes of the University of Wales centenary history. He served as editor of the Honourable Society’s Transactions from 1977 to 1987. He was for several years a co-director of the research team on Iolo Morganwg and the Romantic Tradition in Wales at the University of Wales Institute of Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies at Aberystwyth.