The Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion

Promoting the language, literature, arts and science of Wales

Who’s Who

home > The Society > Who’s Who

The Society is governed by the provisions of its Royal Charter received in 1951 and is recognized as a charity registered in accordance with the Charities Act 2006. These provide for governance to be vested in a President and Council, the size of which must not exceed thirty members.

Members of the Council are elected, initially for a period of three years, at the Society’s annual general meeting, and are eligible to be appointed for subsequent three-year periods.

In helping to meet its statutory responsibilities, the Council continues to review its practices and procedures in order to ensure that members of the Society as a whole are provided with the opportunity to play a major part in its organization and development and that an appropriate range of skills continues to be represented within the membership of the Council.