The Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion

Recognising the contribution of Wales in contemporary society

The Transactions

home > The Society > The Transactions

The Transactions appear annually in the form of a scholarly journal containing papers that have been delivered to the Society as part of its annual lecture programme, as well as additional articles commissioned by the Editor or submitted by contributors.

Articles published in the Transactions cover all areas of Welsh history and culture from any period, including literature (in Welsh and English), history, art, music and politics. Articles may be submitted in Welsh or English. The Transactions is one of the oldest scholarly journals in Britain, and the only one to specialise in interdisciplinary Welsh studies.

The most recent volume of the Transactions to be published is Volume 20 (2014). A summary of the journals contents and a biography of all its contributors is available here.

How to submit an article for publication

Articles should be submitted as a single hard copy or as an electronic file (Word document) submitted via the website or sent by e-mail to the Editor. Articles should be no more than 7000 words, including notes. The Transactions uses the MHRA style guide (Modern Humanities Research Association). Copies of the style guide are available from the MHRA and a summary of the guide is also available on its web site (

Submissions are subject to ‘blind’ peer review, and are normally read by one member of the Editorial Board together with a second reader nominated by the Editor. Comments from the readers are sent back to contributors.

The Editor

Professor Helen Fulton
Department of English
University of Bristol
Woodlands Road
Bristol BS8 1TB

Editorial Board

Professor Stuart Cole – University of South Wales
Professor John Ellis – University of Michigan
Dr Anne Knowles – Middlebury College
Professor Ronald Lewis – West Virginia University
Professor Catherine McKenna – Harvard University
Professor Daniel Melia – University of California, Berkeley
Professor Joseph Falaky Nagy – University of California, Los Angeles
Professor Christopher Williams – Cardiff University
Professor Gruffydd Aled Williams